6 Replies Latest reply on Oct 26, 2006 1:07 PM by

Passing text to flash from JavaScript

Hi guys,

I have never worked with flash before so please excuse my newbieness.

I need to pass characters from JavaScript to flash that do not appear in latin alphabet. For example é (if you don't see it its e with an accent, same as é, %E9, é)
      In JavaScript I set flashVars attribute to "titleText=%E9" and also tried "titleText=%C3%A9".

In flash I have this:

textClip.title_txt.autoSize = true;
      textClip.title_txt.multiline = false;
      textClip.title_txt.html = true;
      textClip.title_txt.wordWrap = false;

textClip.title_txt.htmlText = unescape(titleText);

All I get is blank. I tried putting unescape("%E9") and unescape("%C3%A9") directly in flash but that didn't work. Also on flash movie text field, under Embed options I selected "All "39477 glyphs)" and tried changing "Render text as HTML" option, still nothing. Maybe I am not embeding characters properly?

Thank you.
        • 1. Re: Passing text to flash from JavaScript
          .:}x-=V!P=-x{:. Level 3
          in the embed panel there is a input text field where you can define other characters to embed you need to put the special characters there
          1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Passing text to flash from JavaScript
            I tried to do it by specifying é character but it didn't work. Also I can't really use this solution because this flash will be used on sites with different languages so there possibly be hundreds of special characters.
            • 3. Passing text to flash from JavaScript
              anonymous thing Level 1
              try to use French charset in your HTML, ISO-8859-1, or maybe the extended one(I never tried it), ISO-8859-15

if it's really not working try UTF-16
              1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Passing text to flash from JavaScript