12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2015 2:56 PM by StevenNG

Two Lightroom Questions

StevenNG Level 1

Hi,

I am fairly new to lightroom recently having switched from Aperture. I am using the latest version of LR (not CC) and Photoshop CS6. I have encountered two problems which occurred at the same time. Hopefully, I did something silly, and this is a quick fix.

1. When I edit photos, I no longer see the little icon in the lower right hand corner of each edited photo, in the photo strip that runs along the bottom of LR. I do see the icon in grid view. I know the edits are there, as I can check the before and after photos.

2. When I edit a photo in PSCS6, I right click on the photo, and select "Edit in". Previously a screen popped up giving me three choices, and I selected the top one, "edit and keep Lightroom edits". Now, the pop up menu does not appear, and the photo simply opens in PS6.

I am sure one of you experts can help with this! Please try to keep the answer simple, as I am not an expert with LR or the computer.

Thanks!

Steven

• 1. Re: Two Lightroom Questions
          99jon Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          1. Go to:

Lightroom >> Preferences >> Interface (tab)

For the filmstrip you can chose badged, ratings, picks etc by checking the boxes.

2. Lightroom >> Preferences >> External Editing (tab)

You can choose your settings for how the image opens in Photoshop.

• 2. Re: Two Lightroom Questions
            JimHess Adobe Community Professional & MVP

1. If you have reduced the size of the filmstrip too much, the badges will not be displayed.

2. If you have updated Camera Raw to 8.7.1 then Lightroom and Photoshop/Camera Raw are synchronized, and it isn't necessary for you to make the choice. All of your Lightroom edits will transfer to Photoshop.

• 3. Re: Two Lightroom Questions
              StevenNG Level 1

Thanks!

Problem 1 resolved. I see how to choose the badge, etc.

Although, as Jim suggested, my film strip was reduced too much.