7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 6, 2015 3:05 AM by chris_modo

Text Wrap around an image via script

chris_modo

I'm very new to ID scripting here, please be nice ;-) I can't get my head around to text wrap an image placed above a text frame.

Here's my sample code:

var myDocument = app.documents.add(0);

var myPage = myDocument.pages.item(0);

var myStory = myPage.place(File("<filepath>"));

var myTextFrame = myDocument.pages.item(0);

var imgPlace = myTextFrame.place(File("<filepath>"));

Image.textWrapPreferences = TextWrapSideOptions.BOTH_SIDES;

Where am I wrong?

Thank you!

• 1. Re: Text Wrap around an image via script
          [Jongware] Most Valuable Participant

I don't see where you get the 'Image' variable from -- is it (as it should be) 'imgPlace[0]'? (Please ignore if your code works and you indeed get to see your image!)

The problem is this line:

Image.textWrapPreferences = TextWrapSideOptions.BOTH_SIDES;

You cannot set one property in 'preferences' this way. Either address it through textWrapMode:

Image.textWrapPreferences.textWrapMode = TextWrapSideOptions.BOTH_SIDES;

or explicitly set properties, which accepts an object contain the key/values to change:

Image.textWrapPreferences.properties = { textWrapMode: TextWrapSideOptions.BOTH_SIDES };

• 2. Re: Text Wrap around an image via script
            chris_modo Level 1

Hi Jongware, thank you for the quick reply.

That's the whole of my code. I don't know where the Image variable came from

I changed as suggested to Image.textWrapPreferences.textWrapMode = TextWrapSideOptions.BOTH_SIDES;

but see an error "undefined is not an object" Would you mind putting it together for me a running code :-) Thank you!

var myStory = myPage.place(File("/C/users/username/desktop/text.txt"));

var imgPlace = myTextFrame.place(File("/C/users/username/desktop/333000.jpg"));

• 3. Re: Text Wrap around an image via script