10 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2015 8:16 AM by pjgfi

ID Master Pages vs Powerpoint / Captivate Master Slides

pjgfi Level 1

Hello,

I'm new to InDesign and I just can't get the way Master Pages are supposed to work.

I though they were pages like the ones in Powerpoint or Captivate : you put placeholders on the page and format them the way you want, then when you create new pages based on those masters you just fill in the pre-formatted fields.

This is not the case in InDesign. Everything's locked ! What's the point ?

It's fine for background pictures, pages numbers and that kind of stuff but why would you put text and image placeholders you just can't edit ?

Of course, you can override item but you just lose link to the master page.

A simple example : I made a master page with chapter title on a line (white on a grey background) with automatic numbering and a block of text underneath.

Now, if I apply this master to a page, I just can't type in text, autonumbering is useless. I have to overide elements but what if I change title background color and decide text should be on two columns ? If I reapply Master on my page, I get modified stuff underneath overidden elements !

I hope you see what I mean and that you will give me clues to the best approach to InDesign master pages.

Thanks.

PJ

• 1. Re: ID Master Pages vs Powerpoint / Captivate Master Slides
          Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant

Don't put anythin on the Master. Except automatic page number, running header and maybe a background on the lowest layer.

Text styles and other styles are defined in Paragraph, Character, Object, Table and Cell Styles and found in WIndow > Styles > …

Define your styles there, it is much more better than PPT.

• 2. Re: ID Master Pages vs Powerpoint / Captivate Master Slides
            pjgfi Level 1

Thanks for your answer.

But what if I want to have pages layouts ? Like title + 2 columns of text, chapter title on a single page...