6 Replies Latest reply on Feb 8, 2015 8:54 AM by A.T. Romano

Volume Leveling

twinturbo4486

Is there a "Volume Leveling" option with Premiere Elements?    I recently purchased Premiere Elements 13 and I am still learning to use it.  The previous program I used had a volume leveling option that automatically leveled out the volume of a clip so all the sounds produced were leveled out pretty close to the same volume level. 

Basically I run a YouTube channel and I sit closer to our camera than my friend does.  My voice comes through a LOT louder than his and I want to level this out.   I can't just adjust the audio level of the clip because that just increases or decreases the volume of both our voices.    I've tried internet searching and couldn't find anything.    I want to avoid manually having to turn the volume up or down when both of us speak because that would be way too much work as our videos are usually 30min-1hour.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Volume Leveling
          twinturbo4486 Level 1

I ran into another problem.    While waiting for a response to this I was going to edit some footage I took on my phone the other day.   It's a Samsung Galaxy S4 and records in 1080p.   Once I started editing everything was fine and now the audio and video are out of sync as I got about 5 minutes into editing the video.   

• 2. Re: Volume Leveling
            A.T. Romano Level 7

twinturbo4486

In Premiere Elements 13, you can right click the Timeline audio and select Audio Gain from the pop up  menu that appears. This will bring up the Clip Gain dialog which includes a Normalize button. Is that what you used in a prior version?

When you establish your volume, do you do that with the Audio Meter on. See Window Menu/Audio Meters.