3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2007 1:22 AM by Peter Lorent

Unexplained Looping with tween

Rich Rainbolt
      First let me say I am new to flash but I have done my homework, doing the tutorials and having purchased and read, (a good deal of),"Foundation ActionScript for Flash 8." OK so I think I've overlooked something basic in Flash and now that I'm knee deep in actionScript it is showing up.

I want to do a simple effect of cross fading text over text and finally freezing on the final text.
      I have each piece of text on a different layer in a folder called "content" the top most folder is called actions where (duh), I have my actionScript. I have each text defined as a movie clip with _mc at the end of the variable name.

In the beginning frame (frame 3 after I used the first two for loading status) I have a key frame for all pieces of text graphic etc.

I have:

// set flash up to locate tweening components
      import mx.transitions.Tween;
      import mx.transitions.easing.*;

then I have a lot of initialization etc.
      //initialize all text & graphics to not appear
      txt01_mc._alpha = 0;
      txt02_mc._alpha = 0; .... all the other _mc set to 0

then I have some variables etc.
      // declaire & initialize variables //
      var fadeIntxtSpeed:Number = 2.5;
      var fadeOutTxtSpeed:Number = 1.0;

//debugg trace variables (nothing really important here)

Then I have the tween code.
      var tweenTxt01:Tween = new Tween(txt01_mc, "_alpha", Strong.easeInOut, 0, 100, fadeIntxtSpeed, true);
      tweenTxt01.onMotionFinished = function():Void {
      var tweenTxtDone_Bool:Boolean = true;
      trace("Line 42 - the value of tweenTxtDone_Bool is "+tweenTxtDone_Bool);
      tweenTxt01.continueTo(0, fadeOutTxtSpeed);
      tweenTxt01.Tween.stop();
      //kick off txt02 tween sequence//
      if (tweenTxtDone_Bool) {
      var tweenTxt02:Tween = new Tween(txt02_mc, "_alpha", Strong.easeInOut, 0, 100, fadeIntxtSpeed, true);