8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2015 3:09 PM by dummergold

Illustrator layers only visible one frame

dummergold Level 4

After Effects 2014.2 version 13.2.0.49

Illustrator 2014.1.1 version 18.1.1

So, I started off posting in the wrong forum (Illustrator) and with that

question, seemed to jumped that hurtle, but encountered another.

My first problem was importing an Illustrator layered image as 'Composition

- Retain layer sizes' and had to check off the sequence options as

'Illustrator/PDF/EPS Sequence' in order to keep the layers in the proper

positions (or all layers centered around individual anchor points).

Another problem I had with that was all my layers became mixed - so my

solution was to bring them into the comp in a manual order.

So, now that I have the Illustrator layers in my After Effects comp, the

layers only remain visible for one frame.

I have my comp set for a minute. I started playing with opacities and can't

get past the 'one frame visibility'.

My plans are to 'draw on' the guitar I have drawn in Illustrator, by

keyframing the layer opacities.

I have tried the Animation/Keyframe Assistant/Sequence Layers but I am

missing something.

I want to try other effects that I do not remember the specific effect name

(to draw on the guitar layers), but first I need to start with having my

layers visible for more then the one frame.

What have I missed?

• 1. Re: Illustrator layers only visible one frame
          dummergold Level 4

After Effects.JPG

I also need to lower the image as the top string is clipped and need to work on my process with that also.

• 2. Re: Illustrator layers only visible one frame
            dummergold Level 4

After Effects2.JPG

I stretch out the timeline and see the frame length. I usually am able to stretch the time of the image to the comp length, but thinking the illustrator layer needs to be approached differently.

• 3. Re: Illustrator layers only visible one frame
              dummergold Level 4