9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 13, 2015 4:34 AM by JEShort01

Help with new AE tower PC, especially for SSD set up

vicpostprod

I am trying to put together a desktop PC for video and photo editing, a lot of AE, PS and Lightroom, but also PP, Audition, Speedgrade.
      I am buying all the parts new and will get some professionals to put it together here in London.
      I am not very technically expert, so please let me know if I have got it all wrong.
      Mobo: Asus x99 A
      Processor: i7 5820k
      Memory: 32 GB DDR4 to be later expanded to 64. Any suggestion on which brand and type?
      GPU: Asus Geoforce GTX 760
      My main problem regards the storage solution. This is what I am planning:
      Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB (OS and Programs) - This is the slower one, but I assume that for this use I don't need an extra fast one
      Samsung XP 941 256GB (Media Files)
      2 x Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB in Raid 0 (cache, previews and projects).
      In order to get good performance from the two SSD in RAID0 will they be connected to the SATA or I need some sort of connection to PCI?

Besides I will need about 4TB for back up, either a single HDD, or 3 or 4 in RAID5, whatever is suggested.
      Many thanks for your input

• 1. Re: Help with new AE tower PC, especially for SSD set up
          JEShort01 Level 4

Samsung 850 Pro 256GB for OS & programs - excellent choice!

Now for a big, fast work area... why not upgrade to the 512GB Samsung xp 941 and use that for all files: media, cache, previews, exports, projects. That should be plenty fast.