4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2015 8:38 AM by ShipyardGone

LR5 Locate Missing Photos

ShipyardGone

Noob here. I'm using LR5 from the CC.

I recently (days ago) had to reload all my RAW files from external media.

Back when they were originally ADDed to LR, they had been renamed externally. The newly reloaded photos have the original camera filenames.

LR show all the previews with the missing icon, but if I do a locate folder, it finds nothing.

If I do a locate file (with find nearby checked) it finds just the photo I select (not great as there are thousands to find).

When the files were originally renamed 'PreserveFileName' was set in XMP.

Unfortunately LR does not allow me to rename the previews back to the PreservedFileName, nor does it allow locate/find the photos by the PreservedFileName.

I don't want to loose all the Develop/Metadata changes that have to saved in LR.

Is there something else I can try?

• 1. Re: LR5 Locate Missing Photos
          ssprengel Adobe Community Professional & MVP

To make sure I understand the situation:  you original renamed photos during import and still have a catalog that points to them with that new name, but those photo files have all been deleted and the only copy of the photos are from the backup that was created during Import but those all have the original filename from the camera, not the renamed name, right?

If that is correct, then you are correct that you cannot locate-missing-photo using the original photo-filename, only the current name.

What might work is if you used LR to rename the photos as they were imported, then you may be able to get LR to rename the photos the same way, again.

Make a backup of your current catalog that points to the renamed photos so if anything happens you can start over with that, and you also would want to make a backup copy of your photos if you’re not working with copies, already.  These backups or just to be safe in case you need to retry the process over several times.