1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 18, 2015 11:25 AM by JimHess

    Opdateringer

    Megalithicman Level 1

      Jeg har haft LR 2 til 5 og jeg holder meget af deres brugerflade! Jeg har 1 ? På min PC tager LR. 2 - 5 MEGET plads op. Kan jeg slette de "gamle opdateringer? Jeg ønsker at frigøre plads på min PC. Jeg har den tanke, at ALLE de tidligere opdateringer 2 - 5 bliver lagt ind i systemet, således, at hvis jeg sletter de hidtidige opdateringer så går jeg ikke glip af noget , idet alle opdateringer ligger i den nyeste opdatering. Jeg troede at de gamle opdateringer blev "overskrevet" / erstattet af de nye, således at den brugte programflade/ plads var begrænset. For nuværende fylder LR ... meget på min pc.

      Fotografierne ligger selvfølgelig på et par eksterne harddiske.

      Hvorfor bliver de gamle versioner af LR ikke bare overskrevet, for derfor at sikre  programstabilitet, fejlminimering og større systemsikkerhed?

      jeg forstår det ikke.

      Jeg er ikke pc nørd, men bruger af diverse programmer.

      in english:

      I love LR 2 - 5, but on my pc the updates takes up a TON of space. The photographs are on ext. harddrives, so it is only the LR link thats on the C drive. YETY LR takes up a TON of space. I thought / believed that when importing an update the " former" / old" programe would be overwritten by the new programe. On my PC the "updates" takes up a LOT of space. I have 1 question to the internationale Community and to ADOBE: Can I delete any "old updates in order to make moore space on the C drive? I just believe / think that any update contains all the former updates of a certain programe and that I therefore can "delete" all older versions of a given programe? LR 2 - 5 takes up a lot of space, - Cn I simply " delete" all old versions.

      Pleaese advice me:

      Megalithic man ( PS a M.... is an old Stone age Burial site)

      Copenhagen, Denmark

        • 1. Re: Opdateringer
          JimHess Adobe Community Professional & MVP

          Every update of Lightroom is a complete new installation of the program. It doesn't rely on anything in the program files or the older version for anything. Older versions can be deleted, because they are not needed.

           

          On my computer, whenever I install an update like from Lightroom 5.6 to Lightroom 5.7.1, The installer removes the previous version. However, installing upgrades, like from Lightroom  4 to Lightroom 5, Does not replace the previous version. It is this way by design. When you are certain that you no longer need those older versions it is safe to delete them. It is also safe to delete old catalogs that are associated with the older versions as well as any backups that you might still be storing from them. But be careful when deleting old catalogs. Make sure you don't get rid of the one you are using.