4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2015 7:45 AM by ECBowen

Need a fast laptop for 4k

yash-lucid Level 1

Hi guys.

Can anyone please suggest a resource/website of some sort to help find the fastest laptops that are capable of editing 4k. I am looking for a light 15" laptop so that it's easy to travel with.

Is there any site that rates top laptops? What are industry pros using? I am very new to this laptop game and everyone suggests to get a MBP Retina but I prefer windows for compatibility and preference.

I am also looking at the idea of using MSATA for attaching an SSD scratch disk.

The 4k footage will be from GH4 and not red/alexa/bmcc raw.

• 1. Re: Need a fast laptop for 4k
          Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Your best bet is tomorrow to call our forum member Eric at ADK to see if he can make your dream possible.  I am a recent strong advocate of laptop HD video editing but 4K is out of my league.  In commercial off-the-shelf products you are limited to 4-core processors which might be the bottleneck.  We have some 4k material in our PPBM benchmark and a few of us laptop owners have been able to get some decent scores on that timeline   You definitely need Premiere 8 and you might need dual mobile GPU's to help with that 4k material.  You will be looking at dual SSD drives.

• 2. Re: Need a fast laptop for 4k
            yash-lucid Level 1

Holy crap.

The stuff on his site is crazy.

http://www.adkvideoediting.com/systems/viewsystem.cfm?recordid=192

I don't know anywhere else in the world where you can find a laptop with 4 internal hdds!

Can we please ask him to provide some feedback and advice?

• 3. Re: Need a fast laptop for 4k
              Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP