5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 23, 2015 3:42 PM by BabaG1

how do i define render length?

BabaG1 Level 1

i'm helping a friend who is not an editor on a project. i'm an editor but not familiar with elements. i've managed to help out with a number of issues but have been stumped by this one.

i looked at the file he rendered and it is 25 minutes long. the video is actually only about 5 minutes but, for whatever reason, he and elements managed to render out a 25 minute file. when i tried to render the file, the render properties window that pops up says at the bottom something to the effect that it also will be 25 minutes. i've set the work area to end at the end of the last video clip but still get this behaviour. i must be missing a setting somewhere.

how do i define the area i want rendered out to file?

thanks,

BabaG

• 1. Re: how do i define render length?
          whsprague Level 4

I'll make two guesses.

First, your friend probably has some video clips somewhere out of the view area that make 5 minute video longer than you think.

Second, you missed checking the "Share Work Area Only" block after you set the Work Area Bars over the 5 minute piece.

Bill

Capture.JPG

• 2. Re: how do i define render length?
            BabaG1 Level 1

thanks, bill.

i checked for extraneous clips and didn't find any. i'm thinking that the second may be the answer to what happened here. how to i change that setting after the fact? i don't have elements myself and will likely direct him here to look at this posting for corrective actions.

edit:

oops. the screen grab didn't display when i first looked at your reply. seems pretty clear now.

thanks again

• 3. Re: how do i define render length?
              whsprague Level 4

If your friend is struggling with learning Premier Elements, I reccomend she/he take an online course at Lynda.com.  The instructor is Steve Grisetti, one of the moderators here.  He knows his stuff, has a well organized course and is a good teacher.