8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 24, 2015 12:18 PM by BuzyBeePhoto

lightroom thinks my pictures are duplicates

jen.a.murray

I apologize because I am not very technical but in desperate need of help....  I recently moved from a PC to a MAC.  I copied my catalog and all my pictures over via external hard drive and set up Adobe CC on the MAC.  First few times I imported pictures, no problem.  Last night when I went to import some pictures (from my Nikon D5100 memory card), half were grayed out - they could not be checked or unchecked.  I clicked on one and it said "this photo is already in the catalog".  I don't get it at all - why is this suddenly happening?  Last night I went in to the memory card and renamed the files but today when I tried it said I did not have permission to rename some of them (??)   Out of 6 pictures, it only shows about 10 I can import and now 10 more it let me rename.  Any help?  I am so confused and need my pictures.

Thank you!!

Jen

• 1. Re: lightroom thinks my pictures are duplicates
          Geoff the kiwi Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Are they duplicates or not??? Where are you importing to??

Perhaps you could add a screen shot of the import window like this:

(use shift+command+4 to get the screen camera)

Screen Shot 2015-02-25 at 6.14.28 pm.png

• 2. Re: lightroom thinks my pictures are duplicates
            jen.a.murray Level 1

The images are not duplicates but the file names may be duplicates (but again, I've never had this issue before) - I change the file name on import but when LR is reading the card, it is saying the images are duplicates.  Again, I apologize for not being technical but as far as importing to, I'm importing to the same catalog I always have - just that it has recently moved from pc to Mac

Screen Shot 2015-02-23 at 6.57.57 PM.png

• 3. Re: lightroom thinks my pictures are duplicates
              dj_paige Level 9