7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 27, 2015 2:31 AM by Rick Gerard

creating multiple maks

Indie767 Level 1

I'm new to AE so please bear with me. I'm trying to create multiple mask, rotoscoping, to create alpha channels for composting. It seems I can only create one mask and one alpha at a time so I have to export to video and import that video back in to AE and then create a new mask to achieve desired results. This is very tedious and time consuming so can AE do rootscoping or should I try another solution. (I read the help section on the Adobe but it doesn't really instruct.

• 1. Re: creating multiple maks
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

You can have any number of masks on a layer, but naturally you may need to change their properties to get the correct behavior. Impossible to advise since you have provided zero useful info.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: creating multiple maks
            JohnyFive Level 2

yes like Mylenium mentioned, give more information...what are u masking exactly. you can make as many masks as you want on a footage layer, just set them all to "none". when u make the masks on the layer, u can press m on ur keyboard to reveal ur masks... then u go to the right, in the middle, u will see different settings for the masks...if u set it them to none, u can keep masking the objects u want to mask in ur video....then u set the first mask to ADD, and then the mask below to i think ADD again..etc...play around with it...u can even invert the masks with the check mark. Have fun with it = )

• 3. Re: creating multiple maks
              JohnyFive Level 2

and when u click on the mask, press f and u can set the feather of the mask

• 4. Re: creating multiple maks
                Indie767 Level 1