3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2015 4:10 PM by trshaner

How can I find missing photos who's filenames have been changed?

momo034

Hi, back when I was a novice Lightroom user a made a ton of mistakes, and now several years later I am trying to organize my photos and those mistakes are catching up with me. 

The big one I am wrestling with now is that I have several folders full of photos that, when I imported them into lightroom the photos names were, for example Photo-A, Photo B, Photo C, etc etc.

At some point I changed their names (the file names on my hard drive...not through Lightroom) to something else, such as Photo (1), Photo (2), Photo (3), etc. etc.

I have no previews or thumbnails in LR (lost in a huge messy amateur mixup) so can't see the images but I can look at the metadata in LR and see what time, for instance the first three photos were taken, say 10:01, 10:02, and 10:03....And if I look at the first 3 photos in in the actual hard drive they are taken at the same time.

Renaming them in LR to match the name on the hard drive is not an option, it wont let me rename them in LR since the file is missing.  And I cannot rename them on the Hard drive to match LR because when you batch rename files in Windows it always does it using the parenthesis (1), (2), (3), etc.  So I can never get it to match

So, without doing it one by one (I have hundreds), is there a way to either get around the renaming issue or better yet to make Lightroom find them using the metadata instead of the name?

I would be greatly indebted to anyone who has the solution!  Thanks

Marie

• 1. Re: How can I find missing photos who's filenames have been changed?
          Just Shoot Me Adobe Community Professional

If by chance you changed the names and didn't include a file extension I don't see how LR can see them. It ignores files that aren't images and any file without a file extension isn't seen as an image even if it really is.