3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 3, 2015 2:54 PM by ECBowen

Researching PC laptops that will run Premiere Pro CC. I am unfamiliar with tech specs. Please help!

Tess P.
      I am an independent filmmaker who is looking to invest in a better and faster laptop to accommodate Premiere Pro CC. I'm a current PC user and love it, and I am trying to stay with the PC OS. I'm not familiar with tech specs, but in my extensive research, this ASUS laptop seems to match almost all of the Adobe System Requirements for Premiere Pro CC (2014). Though, some are not mentioned, so I wasn't sure if it matches up completely.

https://www.insight.com/insightweb/product/ASUS-X750JA-DB71-17.3%22-Core-i7-4700HQ-Windows -8-64-bit-8-GB-RAM-1-TB-HDD/X750JA-DB71/true/search

I don't want to spend a big chunk of money on a new piece of technology if it won't be able to do what I need it to do. Please help!

• 1. Re: Researching PC laptops that will run Premiere Pro CC. I am unfamiliar with tech specs. Please help!
          Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Personally I would not be happy with that unit.  I am delighted running an ASUS G750JW and now they have the G751 versions but they are not in that ball park price wise.  Forget Adobe's System Requirements as they are absolute minimums that you would not be happy with the performance   The CPU in that unit is OK but the maximum RAM is 8 GB, it has a lousy single disk drive is only 5400 rpm, and according to the referenced unit specs it is only a SATA 3 GB/second interface so upgrading to an SSD is not a great option.  It also does not have a standalone nVidia CUDA graphics card so you get no GPU acceleration.