11 Replies Latest reply on Sep 30, 2015 11:49 PM by kylf76501849

RAW Video & File Corruption

Archived

I am a photographer and filmmaker having serious corruptions issue with RAW photo and video files on Areca RAID arrays. RAW files (.CR2, .NEF, .DNG, etc...) are particularly affected but DSLR .MOV and Cinema DNG files are being corrupted as well.

This is happening on two systems that are identical except for the Areca controllers and drives (ARC-1880, & ARC-1882) and different drives. Originally these arrays were both RAID-3 but I converted on to RAID5 to see if the problem was corrected. The issue still persists.

I've contacted Areca for support but have not received a response.

Any advice or help would be deeply appreciated. See system specs below:

See these images for examples:

http://i.imgur.com/zxeFnQu.jpg

Areca-Corrupt-1.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/dnkW16h.jpg

Areca-Corrupt-2.jpg

Model name=ARC-1882I
      Firmware Version=V1.50 2012-06-01
      Disk Vendor=Seagate
      Disk module=ST3000DM001-1CH166
      Disk Firmware Version=CC24
      Operating System=Windows 7
      Driver version=6.20.0.26
      Motherboard Vendor=Gigabyte
      Motherboard Model name=GA-X79-UD5
      Motherboard BIOS Version=F12

• 1. Re: RAW Video & File Corruption
          Bill Gehrke Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Tony,

I cannot think of any way that the Areca controller could corrupt a file unless your system is not fast enough to transfer the data.  This would especially be true with raw files or a series of high resolution photos.

1. Have you measured the read/write rates?  RAID 5 is lousy for large files. 
          2. Where are your Adobe "Media Cache Files"?
          3. Have you turned off compression?
          4. How full are your drives?
          • 2. Re: RAW Video & File Corruption
            ECBowen Most Valuable Participant

When was the last time you ran a parity verification on that array? Do you still have the original raws backed up elsewhere?

Eric