10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 5, 2015 9:32 PM by trayw48535159

Help me with my build

trayw48535159

I purchased cs5 master back in 2012 for premiere and photoshop, shortly thereafter my laptop's video card fried. My cash has gone in different directions since then, but now an editing machine has become a necessity. I still have cs5, which I plan to use. I will be editing gopro 1080p, mainly short clips (up to 5min) with the occasional 30 min video. 

I thought about building a 4790k, but the savings is only $300 compared to the 5820k build I put together (Intel Core i7-5820K, EVGA GeForce GTX 960, Cooler Master HAF X - System Build - PCPartPicker). This is my first build, it will be mainly for CS5, I'll also have to use it for complex excel workbooks. I'd appreciate it if you all would take a look and suggest anything that would make better sense. I'm unsure about my cooler and video card selections.

I'd like to stay at about $2200, but my absolute max is $2500 - of course I'm open to saving money, if it makes sense.  

I plan on using my drives as follows: 

120 SAMSUNG 840 EVO SSD - OS

120 SAMSUNG 840 EVO SSD - projects/export

256 SAMSUNG 850 PRO - cache/preview

2TB Barracuda -Media

• 1. Re: Help me with my build
          Alexander Eberhard Level 1

You shall at least consider the following system requirments:

I7 4790k

16 ram

For cs5 gtx 760 or 680

Disc Setup:

Chance all SSDs to the new 850 pro series

Chance the seagate to a WD black 

750 PSU shall be fine

• 3. Re: Help me with my build
            trayw48535159 Level 1

Alexander, thanks for the reply.

I compared the two builds, but changed the GPU instead of the two cards you've suggested (they're discontinued):

I7-4790k
            16gb ram

GTX 750ti
            Changed SSD to Pro Series
            Kept the seagate (purchased a while back and never used)

750 PSU