7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 6, 2015 8:39 AM by MW Design

Drop Shadows Look Too Solid When Printed

Karen B Hutchison Level 1

Designer newbie here with a drop shadow question.  I am working on a project using vintage-style square photos with a white stroke and a drop shadow.  It looks great on the screen but I just got a page back from the printer and the drop shadows are way too solid-looking on the paper.  They almost look like grey boxes around the photo.

This is a personal project and every time I print, I have to go to FedEx Office to pick it up, so I don't want to just fiddle.  I'm hoping you can help me.  How do I get them to look more subtle?  I tried lowering the opacity and they just looked like lighter gray boxes around the photo.

I am using Adobe InDesign CS 6Here are the settings I am using:

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 2.12.04 PM.png

Thanks!

• 1. Re: Drop Shadows Look Too Solid When Printed
          rob day Adobe Community Professional & MVP

This is a personal project and every time I print, I have to go to FedEx Office to pick it up, so I don't want to just fiddle.

How are you delivering the print file? Are you exporting a PDF? If so what are your export settings?

• 2. Re: Drop Shadows Look Too Solid When Printed
            psmudger Level 1

Also, is your monitor properly calibrated? I'm using your settings on my X-Rite calibrated monitor and it almost looks like grey boxes around the photo, which is exactly how you're describing your print outs.

• 3. Re: Drop Shadows Look Too Solid When Printed

rob day--yes, I am exporting it to a PDF.  There are a lot of export settings.  I'm not sure which ones you are referring to.  Here are my settings:

Screen Shot 2015-03-06 at 10.03.12 AM.png

• 4. Re: Drop Shadows Look Too Solid When Printed

cbgpsmith, I think it is calibrated properly, but as I said, I am a newbie.  The drop shadows look perfect on the screen. 

• 5. Re: Drop Shadows Look Too Solid When Printed