7 Replies Latest reply on Feb 19, 2007 8:38 AM by JohnLeger

is this a stupid question?

darrylfrith
      I'm new to flex and I'm having trouble understanding how viewstack works.

I have three mxml files one is called main and the others are chart1 and chart2.

All I want to do is have a couple of buttons on main.mxml that changes the view from chart1 to chart2 but I can't find any documentation on how to do this. Here is my attempt:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
      <mx:Application xmlns:mx=" http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml" xmlns="*" layout="absolute" xmlns:local="*">
      <mx:Button id="Button1"
      label="Chart 1"
      click="viewstack1.selectedChild=chart;"/>

<mx:Button id="Button2"
      label="Chart 2"
      click="viewstack1.selectedChild=charts;" x="115"/>

<mx:ViewStack x="269" y="276" id="viewstack1" width="400" height="400">
      <mx:Canvas id="chart" label="chart">
      <local:chart2/>
      </mx:Canvas>

<mx:Canvas id="charts" label="Charts">
      <local:chart2/>

</mx:ViewStack>
      </mx:Application>

Can someone please help me.
        • 1. Re: is this a stupid question?
          dimival Level 1
          Try using selectedIndex instead:

<mx:Button id="Button1"
          label="Chart 1"
          click="viewstack1.selectedIndex="0"/>

<mx:Button id="Button2"
          label="Chart 2"
          click="viewstack1.selectedIndex="1" x="115"/>

And no, it is not stupid :)
          • 2. Re: is this a stupid question?
            JohnLeger
            I would never use a Viewstack in that manner. A Viewstack in my understanding cannot span accross a few mxml files. Try using yourview stack ona single mxml file then your code will work. Whatever you put on each of the canvases will only show up when it is selected. You can use selectedChild or selectedIndex, either will work. Also do some research into using State management it sounds like it's something that may work well in your situation.