12 Replies Latest reply on Mar 16, 2015 8:33 AM by *Andy7

LR5 is glitching and SLOW...help!

*Andy7 Level 1

Not sure what's going on with my LR5. I recently decided to make the dive and get LR5 and photoshop. I'm on the cloud plan...or whatever, so it's supposed to update automatically right? Why am I having so many problems? I thought I was supposed to be getting Good photo editing programs....*sigh. My computer is a Windows 7 laptop...is it not able to handle the programs maybe?

• 1. Re: LR5 is glitching and SLOW...help!
          johnhawk666 Level 3

A modern computer should certainly be capable of running Lr, provided it has enough RAM, which it probably has. Please tell us the model and specs so that we can check.

Can you give a more detailed list of the type of problems you're having?

• 2. Re: LR5 is glitching and SLOW...help!
            *Andy7 Level 1

Well it's a Toshiba Satellite C655D-S5300 laptop. Like I said I'm new to LR and when I got it I imported my pictures and it just acted weird. It runs really slow, just switching from the Library module to the develop module makes it kinda freeze for a second while the little round blue circle spins like it's loading. Just selecting a brush or sometimes even using it makes it kinda lock up. Sometimes light room will like glitch and the whole page disapears for a second and I can see the tab I have open behind it. I thought maybe I had importd too many photos (like 7000) so I took some off and now only have ~4000 pics on it. I don't have a External hard drive though. So maybe it's just too much for my computer? Idk, I know I need to get an external hard drive Anyway to back up all my photos, I'm just not all that savy on what I need. :/ But I still didn't think it should be freezing up every little bit.

• 3. Re: LR5 is glitching and SLOW...help!
              johnhawk666 Level 3