8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2015 5:20 PM by SeanPercy42

Need some advice on a motion graphics/editing PC build.

SeanPercy42 Level 1

Here's the deal. I've been builing custom PC's for more than 20 years but not a system anything close to the one I'm planning to build next and need some expert advice and information from anyone up to it. I am looking to build a system specifically for video editing, creating motion graphics, and 3D modeling, and have some rather advanced questions about what components would be best for my specific needs (mainly about the graphics card & disk drives).

First is the video card(s). And I say 'card(s)' because I'm not sure if I need more than one card for what I'm trying to accomplish. I will be creating many long, complex 3D animations using Blender and After Effects, in addition to editing a variety of projects in Premiere, and want the best bang for my buck. My projected budget for this system is pretty high (from $5k to $10k) and I know I can get amazing performance at that price point if I get the right equipment. So onto the cards. From what I've gathered, briefly searching Google, is that I want an Nvidia card with CUDA for video editing. My main question in this area is, would dual or quad graphics cards using SLI be benificial in anything I'm trying to do, or is SLI mainly for improved gaming performance? From what I've gathered, I believe that rendering (at least video, not sure about 3D animation) is done mainly using the CPU, and not the GPU; although CUDA helps. I basically need to know how much it helps. If I purchased two or four GTX 980's would I see a significant improvement in After Effects, Blender, or Premiere? I'm planning on getting one of the top (if not the top) i7 CPU I can find, so there will not be a bottleneck with my CPU performance, so please don't anyone suggest to put the money into the CPU instead of the GPUs, because I will already be putting in the maximum amount there.