5 Replies Latest reply on Mar 8, 2015 8:52 AM by trshaner

Completely unstable - any tips?

eric98924233

I finally broke down and purchased lightroom to use after getting a DSLR late last year and bemoaning the fact that Aperture is no longer viable. My experience has been ...considerably less than stellar.

I'm using OSX 10.10 (latest update)

Basic operations (Importing, moving photos from one location to another within a catalog) yield 10 minute+ beach-balls with inability to even launch the force quit window (via cmd-option-esc) and automatic restarts due to kernel panics. I have attempted to import about 8000 photos into a catalog probably 50 times now, with it completely crashing my computer to a kernel panic anywhere from 10 photos imported to 1000 per effort.

This is completely unacceptable.

I am not a computer newbie. I have been using OSX for 10+ years, and never seen anything as unstable as this. I have done all the standard 'stuff has gone completely haywire' things (verifying / repairing disk and disk permissions in recovery mode, etc.) with no effect. Currently typing this on a second mac because my other mac has beach-balled and is probably about to automatically restart due to a kernel panic.

Are there any reasonable reasons for this happening, or troubleshooting steps to try?

I'm about one day away from canceling my subscription, waiting for OSX photos app, and just being sad that Aperture is gone. At this point I have zero trust in Lightroom's stability and would likely have to keep 3+ copies of all my photos and catalogs for fear that kernel panics are going to corrupt my photos and catalogs.

• 1. Re: Completely unstable - any tips?
          trshaner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Ready to move on from Aperture or iPhoto? | The Lightroom Queen

Try the above migration procedure....if you haven't done so already.

• 2. Re: Completely unstable - any tips?
            eric98924233 Level 1