10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2015 7:36 AM by trshaner

Keywords conflict between Lightroom & Bridge

Erik Bloodaxe Level 1

I am new to Lightroom but have used Bridge for a long time.

My Bridge keywords have evolved over time and various hierarchies and parent keywords have been changed many times to reflect my needs.

I find that when I import older images into Lightroom, older parent keywords, long deleted from Bridge, reappear in the Lightroom workspace.

When I update metadata in Lightroom and write the data back to the original files, the old hierarchies and parent keywords reappear in Bridge and in the file's keyword list.

I cannot find a way around this problem.

• 1. Re: Keywords conflict between Lightroom & Bridge
          trshaner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What file type(s) are having this issue? Are you sure the files with keywords deleted in LR are in the same folder in Bridge where you still see the deleted keywords?

• 2. Re: Keywords conflict between Lightroom & Bridge
            Erik Bloodaxe Level 1

It occurs with any file type in particular I am using dng and jpg regularly.

By experimentation Lightroom seems to show the long deleted parent keyword which once contained a particular keyword. The parent keywords were EXCLUDED in Bridge when they were added to an image but they show in Lightroom.

A strange but related issue is that sometimes Lightroom displays a keyword which was altered and is no longer seen in Bridge.

e.g. I changed the keyword “Howgills” to “Howgill Fells” about 5 years ago in about 50 images.

So now Bridge displays “Howgill Fells” only, as I would expect, whereas Lightroom displays BOTH “Howgills” and “Howgill Fells”

I’m baffled as to where Lightroom is finding this information – somehow it appears to be hidden within the images’ EXIF data but is not visible in Bridge.

Regards,

Peter

• 3. Re: Keywords conflict between Lightroom & Bridge
              DdeGannes Adobe Community Professional

Quote "