15 Replies Latest reply on Mar 14, 2015 11:27 AM by Willi Adelberger

Kindle plugin crashes and bugs

PhiBible

Hello,

I've been using Indesign since 2001 for publishing Bibles (large Books of 700+ pages).

Recently, I started using the Kindle plugin for CS4. The first Kindle Book was successful, but I have some bugs to report.

Just about every time I start the export to Kindle process, the export crashes and I get a popup saying "Object invalid" or "not an Object". I restart the export, and it runs. Go figure.

Sometimes, the export will halt part way through the process, and popup the same message(s) about an invalid object.

If this doesn't happen, the resulting .mobi file is good and usable. Although I have found that any indented text (such as a Table of Contents [just text not hyperlinked or anything]) with 3 levels of indentation will not line up correctly in the outputted file; and anything I do to correct it doesn't seem to work; and the result will look different in different Kindle devices, according to the Kindle emulator tool.

If these problems are ignored and an output .mobi file can be generated, the Kindle file is pretty good. It is much better quality than a comparable .mobi file generated starting with Word documents, then using the Amazon emulator tool to convert it to .mobi. So kudos to Adobe guys, your product is performing better than the alternative, but there are still warts.

The 2nd problem I am having currently, is that I have another Bible version that I have prepared for exporting to Kindle format, using identical everything  to the previous Bible version. There are 40 individual documents tied together by a "Book", relatively small sizes. Every time I have tried to export this Book to Kindle, it crashes, and I have no idea why. I tried "save as" for every document, so each one would be a clean file.

I just did another export, and I got the following error popup that you can see here. Please help if you can. ThanksCapture.JPG