6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 25, 2017 3:59 AM by jong97933453

How do I create self-writing text with overlaps?

jaykeeley

I've tried having a look around online and searching on here without much luck.
      I'm new to after effects and I've managed to create a basic self-writing text effect from videos online using a path and stroke technique, but there is a problem with using this technique for what I want. The text I am using has overlaps, where there are intersections, meaning that when I stroke through this area it shows chucks at the side of that line of text from the intersecting line (see below)
      haunted.PNG
      I think the solution is to use a variable width stroke, where I can set the width correctly for each part of the path, but I don't seem to be able to find how to do this on CS6. I only seem to be able to define a width for the entire path at the same time

• 1. Re: How do I create self-writing text with overlaps?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You need to add some animated masks. It is a bit tedious but easily done.

• 2. Re: How do I create self-writing text with overlaps?
            jaykeeley Level 1

I take it I just create a mask that adds a bit of text every frame or so using that?

• 3. Re: How do I create self-writing text with overlaps?

No, I add a solid and add masks to the solid that fix the overlays and use the solid as a track matte. If you use a a complementary color and set the blend mode to screen you can see through the track matte to help draw the masks. I usually make the animation run slower than I want it then nest the write on effect and use time remapping to set the final speed.

• 4. Re: How do I create self-writing text with overlaps?
                jaykeeley Level 1

so I would still use the path/stroke, and just use the solid to block out the problem areas? sorry Rick, I'm really new to this. Thanks for your help! :-)

• 5. Re: How do I create self-writing text with overlaps?