7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 20, 2015 8:33 AM by Szalam

Cinema 4D - Save as PNG

mrsnooch

Hi,

I am trying to render a file from Cinema 4D within AE to a series of PNG files as I don't want my animation having a black background (I don't believe there is an easier way?).

Problem is any tutorial I follow on YouTube shows an option under 'Render Settings', then 'Save', of changing the file format, something I just do not have. I've checked on the comparison page on Maxon's site and the Lite version does support this so I'm a bit confused. I'm a complete noob at this, only started it 24 hours ago so I'm undertaking a massive learning curve, but I'm trying.

See attached screenshot for what I see.

Thanks!
      Mark

Screen Shot 2015-03-20 at 14.16.09.png

• 1. Re: Cinema 4D - Save as PNG
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

It's supposed to be run through AE and Cineware.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Cinema 4D - Save as PNG
            mrsnooch Level 1

Are the tutorials I'm using for the standalone version of 4D?

If I have an animation and bring it into AE, it has a black background, blocking out everything below it. I can't blend it as a Screen because it ruins the black elements of the animation as well. Any solution to this??

• 3. Re: Cinema 4D - Save as PNG
              Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

mrsnooch wrote:

Are the tutorials I'm using for the standalone version of 4D?

I have no idea. Probably. Also, I've found a majority of tutorials on YouTube to be of questionable quality.

You have to make sure you render with alpha if you want transparency. That being said, if you have Cinema 4D Lite, you should only use the Cineware effect to render inside AE and don't render from C4D.

You really should go through some solid instruction first: Getting Started with Cinema 4D Lite and Cineware

• 4. Re: Cinema 4D - Save as PNG
                mrsnooch Level 1