3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 22, 2015 10:25 AM by johnrellis

How to add and search "event" tags to photo

Stevie2k

Hi!

I am relatively new to lightroom and try to tag my images I made in the past the best way to be able to find images as fast as possible.

In the past I made a foldert structure in the way "yyyy-mm-dd event" like "2014-02-05 Birthday party Peter". In these Images I used Picasa to recognize all people important to me and I added tags with the Peoples names. So I was able to find the images of "Mary" in this folder by one click. It was a bit more work to find the corresponding image if I am NOT on that particular folder because all images tagged with "Mary" came up. So I had to look where each image is stored...

Now I work with lightroom 5.7 and thought that my life gets easier in managing my photos.

My problem: how can I store the "event" in the pictures? I have more then 2000 folders with images so copy the folder name into a tag would be a LOT of work.

I started that and came up with next - and my biggest - problem: How can I find Images of "Peter" if I store the event name "Birthday Peter" in every single image in that folder? Every Image of "Mary" will also have the Tag "Birthday Peter" so by searching "Peter" I get all images with "Mary" too...

Is there a way to use custom tags for this kind of information? So that the images only contain the tags "Mary" or "Peter" (or both or none of course) bit the event name is stored elsewhere whithin my metadata?

The best thing for me would be an "Event Tag" where the name of the event can be stored - but it must be handled complete seperately from the normal tags. Eg I can search "Event Tag" "Peter" (to find all "Birthday Peter" events) and additionally the Tag "Peter" to get all Images from Peter on Peters Birthday party...

Is that possible? And how can I achive that?