2 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2015 1:10 PM by nicolek73632363

computer requirements setting up lightroom

nicolek73632363

Hi There,

I am a new photographer and i'm using lightroom on my computer.  I've accumulated a ton of photos and now they are split up in different areas of my computer.  This is not working out well for me and I think i need to rethink my set up.   Currently I have all my 2015 photos residing on a 1 terabyte internal hard drive on my mac.  All my older photos are on a 2terabyte external hard drive.  Then, I have the backups generated from lightroom on another 2 terabyte hard drive. 

I am running out of room all the time on my internal hard drive and I'm thinking of getting a 4 terabyte external hard drive to save all my photos to.  I have so many old photos on these drives now, it's out of control.  Does anyone have a recommendation of a way to set up your computer to manage all of this effectively?   Do people get rid of old photos at a certain point ,or is there a way to archive old files so that I can free up space on my hard drives?  

I'm sure there is a better way than what I'm currently doing, and I'd really appreciate some advice.

Thanks!

Nicole

• 1. Re: computer requirements setting up lightroom
          dj_paige Level 9

I am running out of room all the time on my internal hard drive and I'm thinking of getting a 4 terabyte external hard drive to save all my photos to.  I have so many old photos on these drives now, it's out of control.  Does anyone have a recommendation of a way to set up your computer to manage all of this effectively?   Do people get rid of old photos at a certain point ,or is there a way to archive old files so that I can free up space on my hard drives?

First, I doubt that most people get rid of photos just because they are short on disk space. I certainly don't and it sounds like a horrible idea to me. Purchasing more disk space sounds like a much better idea.