8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2015 11:39 AM by Anjali15

Which one works?

Anjali15

Hi!

I've read several pages online (also those pages from adobe itself) about After Effects and Cinema 4D that is integrated and adobe no longer is doing any additional support for it. I've never used AE before but I want to learn it now and I'm going to work with it in my future education.

I'll buy a new computer very soon but I'm so confused about which graphics card that supports After Effects. I've read the list of officially supported cards but the list is very short. I'm not interested in Quadro, they are too expensive.

What especially confuses me is that the ray-traced renderer is being phased out in favour of Cinema 4D. I'm interested in that ray-traced renderer feature but I don't know what cinema 4D requires of gpu even though it is integrated in AE: So my question is, what kind of graphics card works with AE and its Cinema 4D?

Of graphics cards I've been looking at these that I can buy:

- Gtx 750ti (I've read debates that it isn't supported by AE but some people say they can use it)

- Gtx 960 (I've read debates that it isn't supported by AE but some people say they can use it)

- Gtx 970 (the same as above)

- Gtx 760 (but does it support AE itself? It does support ray-tracing)

- Gtx 670 (it seems that it supports both ray-tracing and AE program itself but is it a good card?)

It's not all graphics cards on the list https://helpx.adobe.com/after-effects/system-requirements.html that I can buy because some of them are outdated and therefore can't be bought anymore (like gtx 570 I can't find it in any online stores)..

The card may not be too expensive to buy..max about $250. The prices are higher in Europe than in USA.... And it may not be a slow card..

My future computer and its hardware (it will not be changed because I buy the whole computer from a store but I'm able to choose the graphics card):

* i7-4790

or