9 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2007 9:18 AM by Newsgroup_User

Nav bar problems

toreddie
      Used Fireworks MX 2004 to develop a Nav Bar with buttons that have up, over, down and over while down states. When testing in Preview in FW, every button and every state seemed to work perfectly. Exported the .png file to Dreamweaver MX 2004 to incorporate in a website I'm working on. The export and the placement in a left side column in a template also seemed fine. Creating an index file also fine. However, the problems became evident when I viewed the index file in IE7. One button seemed to only maintain its up state. A different button seemed to be missing, only showing a place holder.

I'm a novice to website development and have spent several hours trying to solve these two problems. However, I'm not experienced enough to know where to look, and searching through and comparing has not helped me getting any closer to solving this.

If anyone can give me some advise, it'll be greatly appreciated. I'd be willing to send my .png file if someone is willing to take a look at it.

toreddie
        • 1. Re: Nav bar problems
          Level 1
          toreddie,

Please note that Fireworks is an image or graphic editing application, while Dreamweaver is a HTML editing application.

So ideally, you produce a better nav bars in Dreamweaver as opposed in Fireworks. That is to say, the html-generated file created in Fireworks is rather done not properly coded. Some might assume that it is the case.

You can create a new, better nav bars in Dreamweaver, which is far better off than Fireworks itself. Please bear that in your mind, that Fireworks is ideally designed for web images or web graphics per se.

If you need or require some help from participants or myself or others, post a link to webpage, where we can take a look at and see what the problem is. It varies from browsers to OS and things like that.