18 Replies Latest reply on Mar 25, 2015 12:03 PM by Szalam

Fading in an effect

drennan Level 1

Hey all,

I'm quite new to AE and have a basic question. I'm using some third party plugins and once I add an effect to a layer, the default plugin settings are applied. Is there a way to fade the effect in as a whole rather than changing all the settings to zero and using keyframes to bring them all in individually? I've looked on Google but am struggling to word my search to get relevant results.

thanks

• 1. Re: Fading in an effect
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

Ain't no way around using keyframes.  But you CAN dupicate the layer, apply the effect to the upper layer, and animate the upper layer's opacity from 0 - 100%.

And do yourself a REALLY BIG favor:  don;'t try to learn AE just by fooling with it.  It's too confusing.  Get a step-by-step introduction to the basics, presented by the pros:

Getting started with After Effects (CS4, CS5, CS5.5,  CS6, & CC)

AE becomes a whole lot less painful to learn when you take a systematic approach.

• 2. Re: Fading in an effect
            Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What plugin?

You could animate the opacity of the layer with the effect.

• 3. Re: Fading in an effect
              drennan Level 1

I didn't think of using a duplicate layer. That should work, unless some of the layer behind shows through the anti-aliasing. I've had that happen in Photoshop sometimes so was wondering if there was a way to put the effect on its own layer and 'link' it to the text I'm applying it to, then fade the effects layer in? Yes I will have a look at those tutorials. I learnt Photoshop by fumbling around and it took me years to master it! Thanks

• 4. Re: Fading in an effect
                drennan Level 1

It's Trapcode Shine. Even when I zero all the settings it seems to be affecting the colour of the text layer I'm applying it to.

• 5. Re: Fading in an effect
                  A. Cobb Level 3