4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 5, 2007 10:56 AM by kiamber

Passing Data From a DataGrid to a Form Item

kiamber
      I am new to Flex, and I currently have a DataGrid that shows a query result of many items. If I select one I pass the ID to prepopulate an Edit form. It is not passing it. Below is my code that I pass from the DataGrid:

//this function is called when the user clicks the "Edit" button
      private function goToLocations():void {
      var objSelectedNetwork:Object = new Object;
      objSelectedNetwork = thisId;
      Alert.show(thisId.toString());
      var objectEvent:ObjectEvent = new ObjectEvent("DisplayEditNetwork",true);
      objectEvent.objToPass = objSelectedNetwork;
      dispatchEvent(objectEvent);
      }

I then have a EventListener call and pass the ID to the Edit Form:
      private function init():void {
      this.addEventListener('DisplayEditNetwork',displayEditNetwork);
      }
      private function displayEditNetwork(event:ObjectEvent):void {
      networkEdit.thisId = event.objToPass as int;
      NetworkAccordion.selectedChild = NetworkEdit;
      networkEdit.setNetworkId(event);
      }

and finally, I have the setting of the ID:

public function setNetworkId(event:ObjectEvent):void {
      daNetwork.getById(thisId);
      }

<mx:method name="getById" result="receiveSelectedNetwork(event)"/> -------- this calls my getById method:
      private function receiveSelectedNetwork(event:ResultEvent):void {
      if (thisId != 0){
      daNetwork.getById(thisId);
      var editNetworkId:int = 0;
      editNetworkId = thisId;
      }
      }

The alert that's currently on the DataGrid template alerts the correct ID, but the other alerts have a value of "0". Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
        • 1. Re: Passing Data From a DataGrid to a Form Item
          kiamber Level 1
          I have changed my code on the template with the DataGrid to :
          private function submitEditForm():void {