4 Replies Latest reply on Mar 27, 2015 4:51 AM by redbourn

Is landscape the 8.5x11 default?

redbourn Level 1

Complete newbie and just something I was practicing with today.

First time that I've tried using the program.

Have to learn about columns and paragraphs and many many other things!

The photo is just something I shot very quickly on my phone to throw onto the page.

Why landscape?

That's not how I have the page setup.

letter 8.5.jpg

I couldn't see how to attach a pdf file so I put it here.

http://misconceptions.us/indesign/first-attempt-with-indesign.pdf

Michael

• 1. Re: Is landscape the 8.5x11 default?
          designwolf Level 1

Hi Michael,

I believe the issue here happened because you have a check next to "Facing Pages."
          Facing Pages places two pages of identical size right next to each other, think of your average text book.

With "Facing Pages," your working on 17 x 11 spread.

By unchecking "Facing Pages," you should return your spread back to the desired 8.5 x 11.

Here is a video that might help:
          InDesign CS6 102: Starting A New Document - 5. Facing and Non-Facing pages - YouTube

Hope this helps!

• 2. Re: Is landscape the 8.5x11 default?
            Migintosh Level 4

Other things that might be tripping you up are that if you create an 8.5x11-portrait-facing-page document in InDesign, when you export as PDF, it will export as 8.5x11 portrait pages, but Acrobat or which ever PDF viewer you are using may be set to show you two-page spreads. You can test this by creating a generic document. Here's an 8-pager for example:

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 2.41.56 AM.png

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 2.43.03 AM.png

When viewed in Acrobat, it looks like this:

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 2.43.56 AM.png

…but only if View>Page Display is set to Single Page Continuous. If it's set to Two-Up Continuous, you get this:

Screen Shot 2015-03-27 at 2.44.27 AM.png