1 Reply Latest reply on Jan 28, 2007 1:13 PM by johndaigle

Editing existing online help systems with RoboHelp

Johno619
      First, I'm a bit of a novice... but:

I'm trying to cutomize topics in the online help system included in the Microsoft CRM product (thus, tailoring the online help to match the customizations my organization has made to our copy of the product). Is there any way I can accomplish this in RoboHelp? I mean, I can import all of the individual HTML files, but I lose the TOC and any sort of structure to the overall help system (possibly XML files?). Plus, the files look a bit funny in the WYSIWYG, not sure why.

Maybe it's simple, and I'm missing something. Maybe it's not possible... Not sure. If I could just pull the whole thing into RoboHelp, make my changes, add new topics, and re-generate, I would be so stoked!
        • 1. Re: Editing existing online help systems with RoboHelp
          johndaigle Level 4
          Hi, and welcome to the forums!
          While I am not familar with the MS CRM app, the help appears to be a proprietary uncompiled format (not a .chm) You're right, it uses XML for the TOC. I did locate a link that might be helpful.
          Microsoft CRM Help: Customizing Online Help
          http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa681364.aspx

It suggests using any HTML editor for creating/editing topics, so it would appear you could do this in RoboHelp. However, the Table of Contents follows a proprietary XML format provided by MS. So, as I see it, you could probably maintain your content with a RoboHelp Projects, but would need to manually edit the XML provided by MS for the TOC. (It appears to be a fairly simple copy/paste operation and they provide examples).