14 Replies Latest reply on Mar 29, 2015 1:59 PM by smoothsea

meaning of colored lines and boxes

redbourn Level 1

As some of you already know, I'm a real newbie with InDesign, just a couple of days, so thank for your patience.

I just changed a page size so it's not surprising that things got messed up.

Anyway it's a good time to ask about the different colored lines and the two squares in the image.

What do they all signify?

Michael

BTW - I did search on the Internet before coming here and didn't find the answer. And I have two long tutorials but the answers could be anywhere on them.

lines and boxes.jpg

• 1. Re: meaning of colored lines and boxes
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

The indicated box on the left is the In Port on the text frame, and the little triangle indicates it is not the first frame in a text thread. Click the yellow box to activate live corner effects.

The color of a frame bounding box is determined by the color assigned to a layer in the Layers panel. Default the first layer is assigned a Cyan color. In addition to the frame edges, your screen shot shows a bleed boundary guide set in Document Setup, the page boundary, and the margin guides from page setup.

Has anyone recommended that you should pick up a copy of Sandee Cohen's Visual QuickStart Guide to InDesign?

• 2. Re: meaning of colored lines and boxes
            redbourn Level 1

Thank you.

I will check out Sandee Cohen's Visual QuickStart Guide to InDesign

I have good tutorials which I'm watching but it would be nice to have the really needed right in front of me

What is the "In Port" ?

Which color is the bleed guide?

I do know Premiere and Photoshop pretty well which makes this a bit easier.

Michael

• 3. Re: meaning of colored lines and boxes
              John Mensinger Adobe Community Professional & MVP

What is the "In Port" ?