10 Replies Latest reply on Mar 28, 2015 9:07 AM by Peter Spier

Non-aligned horizontal columns

redbourn Level 1

Newbie stuff.

Please take a look at the image and let me know why the text isn't lining up.

------

I would also like to know how to swap the columns in CS 6 - if it's possible.

But maybe that you be a separate post?

Thanks

Michael

non-aligned headings.jpg

• 1. Re: Non-aligned horizontal columns
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

It may be impossible to tell without seeing the file, but we'll have a better chance if you turn on non-printing characters and select the frames so we can see the edges clearly, then post another screen shot.

• 2. Re: Non-aligned horizontal columns
            redbourn Level 1

Thanks so much. I am studying and promise not to be such a pest when I get the basics down.

show hidden characters.jpg

• 3. Re: Non-aligned horizontal columns
              Derek Cross Level 6

On a different matter – it's about "sign-posting". The name of the dish, "Chilli con carne", is the same size as the heading "ingredients" – it should be larger.

Presumably you'll have another subheading, the same size as "Ingredients", which states something like "Method" which has the preparation and cooking instructions.

Also, you're using InDesign like a typewriter for your text. I suggest  you use Paragraph (and character styles) and get rid of those carriage returns. Apart from being able to have subtler spacing, it will be vital if you decide to also produce an ePub edition. It will also help produce a TOC.

• 4. Re: Non-aligned horizontal columns

Common rookie mistake here.

You've used empty paragraphs to make blank space between paragraphs and at the top of the column. In this case the empties at the top use different type sizes.