4 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2007 2:53 PM by janette99

how to automate photslide template in flash 8

janette99

I have flash 8 professional. I am not a html professional, previously i used frontpage 2003 for web creation, and now i dabble with dreamweaver 8 too. I have little html knowledge.

I am trying to create a photoslide using the Flash 8 Professional ready provided templates. There is one called " modern photo slideshow", which has a controller that the user clicks to forward or go back to see the photos.

What i want to do is this. I want theslideshow to automate, ie. play automatically. I dont want any controls to show on the page, or any skins or text. I also want to change the way the photo changes to the next one, ie. either by motion, or by fading out, and into the next one, or something else.

Can anyone tell me how to automate the images? Bear in mind im a total novice. The help files in Flash 8 don't give you much information. they annoyingly assume you know it all, and are a professional.

Thank you in advance.
        • 1. Re: how to automate photslide template in flash 8
          MotionMaker Level 1
          You can do this without any knowledge of Actionscript, but if you have lots of bitmap images you face two problems. One is the size of the Flash movie could present overkill on server load as all of the images will be downloaded regardless if they are seen. The second is the sheet effort of dealing with everything inside one Flash movie.

With that in mind, you would create a MovieClip for each photo you import and place the Photo in the MovieClip.
          The on the main stage you create MotionTweens for each MovieClip. You can have them fade in or out using the properties. If one needs to fade in or out over another, then then you need to start a new layer for each MovieClip and overlap the tweens. Use Motion versus Shape for the tween method.