3 Replies Latest reply on Mar 31, 2015 3:46 AM by joel_pau

Safari, Chrome report different Javascript Errors in Edge Includes. Sudden Javascript Death Syndrome.

g.bollmann Level 1

I get Javascript errors all the time, whether or not I'm attempting to add code. I call it Sudden Javascript Death Syndrome. SJDS comes out of nowhere with reports of bad code  in the Edge Includes file.

Currently, I'm trying to work past errors which EA seems to belch out every once and a while. I rebuilt some symbols from scratch. Clean, nice, careful. Nothing extra, no multi add/delete. No code yet.

In the course of saving iterations, and upon wishing to view version 9, suddenly nothing appears in the browser preview. I save, close, reopen, cleared, rebooted ... you name it. On reopening EA, I get "please check your page for Javascript Errors" message. I'm handy, so I looked in the Browser logs and got these 2 VERY DIFFERENT error notations: I'm a designer. I don' t know the first thing about solving an Uncaught TypeError. Nonetheless, I discovered the referenced file, minified in Edge Includes, is the same across all projects. I replace it with a known good one, but with no effect.

HOW can Edge Animate corrupt its own code - Edge Includes? I don't get it. JSDS is seemingly at random, and it is fatal as far as I can tell.

How do I get past these Javascript Errors?

Chrome reports:

Uncaught SyntaxError: Duplicate data property in object literal not allowed in strict mode      GV-9_edge.js:12  // I deleted the duplicate but - uh -  how can that happen. Def. not user error.

Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'stage' of undefined     edge.5.0.1.min.js:133 // The Stage?! How can that even happen??

Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'stage' of undefined     edge.5.0.1.min.js:126

Safari reports:

[Error] SyntaxError: Attempted to redefine property 'comfortaa, sans-serif'. // THIS IS TOTALLY NEW, AFTER HUNDREDS OF ITERATIONS USING THE SAME ADOBE PROVIDED FONT. (facepalm)