3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 27, 2007 2:35 PM by Left-brained

Instance Names to Variables

Left-brained
      Hi,

I'm very new to Flash and ActionScript, but I do have a background in programming server and client-side web applications, so at least I'm not completely clueless.

I'm trying to figure out when an Instance Name actually becomes available to the ActionScript, so I can modify it.

I've got a Movie Clip in Scene 1 -> Frame 10, in that Movie Clip, on Frame 10 I've got an empty Movie clip that I'm trying to load a .swf into. I can actually load the .swf into it if I put the code to load it into the same frame that I'm displaying the .swf in, but, I want it to be completely loaded before I move into that frame.

Through trial and error I actually managed to get it to act like I need by putting the instance in frame 1 and setting it's alpha to 0, so it isn't visble. That solution doesn't seem very portable to me.

Is there a "correct" way to load a file into a Movie Clip before it gets instantiated? Or, what are the various ways people work-around this issue? This "solution" I've found works in this particular case, but there are a few similar cases in this project where this would be just too cumbersome.

Thanks,
      Chris
        • 1. Re: Instance Names to Variables
          Level 7
          Chris,

> Through trial and error I actually managed to get it to act
          > like I need by putting the instance in frame 1 and setting
          > it's alpha to 0, so it isn't visble.

That's the way to do it, for better or worse. The timeline metaphor is
          a powerful one for animation, but it can be confusing in terms of
          programming. The instance name becomes a variable automatically for you,
          and that occurs when the playhead enters that frame.

> That solution doesn't seem very portable to me.

I can see that. ;) One of the quirks.

> Is there a "correct" way to load a file into a Movie Clip before