6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 1, 2015 4:49 AM by JoeKostoss

.lrcat

Brami

Hi everyone

I have been using lightroom now for a few years. I have my .lrcat file on an external drive and when I open up lightroom i have my EDrive connected. Everything has been working great. I am going travelling on Monday and am taking my laptop, but would like to take a smaller external drive - not the one with all my photos. I just want to edit the photos that I took and I think it's a risk travelling with my entire catalogue.  Any advice on what to do would be great?  Do I create a new .lrcat file on a new EDrive? Thanks

• 1. Re: .lrcat
          Just Shoot Me Adobe Community Professional

If you have already installed LR on your notebook and opened it then it has created a separate catalog file on the notebook internal drive. You can then copy the images you take to your external and import them into LR on the notebook. No need to copy your original catalog over to the smaller external or to the internal drive of the notebook.

• 2. Re: .lrcat
            JoeKostoss Level 4

Assuming that you will want to eventually put these new photos on your large HD at home and that you will want to use the same older catalog, here is what I would do.

Copy the LR catalog from your large HD to your small HD.

Open this catalog from your Notebook. 

Download all the new images while on the road and do your editing. 

When you get back at home, plug in both HDs

Move the new images from inside LR to the larger HD. 

Backup (Copy) the latest catalog with all the new images to the larger HD.

Disconnect the smaller HD and open LR with the updated catalog on your larger HD

You should now be back to normal with all the old images and all the new images on one HD and one Catalog.

By the way, I hope you do have your larger HD with all the images and the catalog backed up to another HD or to the cloud!  You do know that all HDs will eventually fail.

1 person found this helpful