Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need help with a Help problem

New Here ,
May 10, 2006 May 10, 2006

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,
I've been using RoboHelp for about seven years now and this is the first time I've come up with this problem.

The application for which I'm building the Help file contains a What's New menu item in the Help menu. I have a page called What's New but when the menu item is clicked, the Help file opens the default page.

This is a help file I've taken over from someone who's retired now. The previous versions of the application work just fine. I've checked with the developer and find that there's nothing different from what was there earlier.

We also threw an older help file into the application's executables folder and it worked.

Has anyone encountered this kind of a problem? Please help.

Vittal

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Engaged ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Vittal,

A lot depends on how your developer is calling the help file, but it seems like your new help file just isn't connected to that menu item. Do the other calls work OK? Any other menu items, F1 help, etc? What I would do is to use RH's BugHunter or Help Workshop to check the message from the application. It should return something like HH_HELP_CONTEXT and a map number or HH_DISPLAY_TOPIC and a file name.

Make sure the map number is linked to your topic. In the project.hh file (open it with notepad), there should be a line #define IDNAME mapnumber. Then search for that IDNAME in your project.ali file. It should be linked to your topic filename IDNAME= Topicfilename.htm. That "Topicfilename" should have no spaces (for example, "Whats New.htm" wouldn't work).

John

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines