2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 2, 2015 7:15 PM by Casey_W

Maxing CPU during export

Casey_W

Okay. I admit I'm pretty new to video editing. I've spent the past year or so muddling through with VSDC doing as little editing work as possible because that program is as user-friendly as a bengal tiger with rabies. I bought Premiere Elements 13 so I could have a more stable, usable editing software that I could do more interesting stuff with.

Problem is, when I try and export a video it goes just fine for the first 8% or so but then it immediately redlines my CPU. I have no idea what's causing it. I'm trying to export in WMV 1920x1080 (custom made because apparently Elements doesn't like WMV in HD and it's the only type that keeps the file size from being ridiculous).

Specs:

Intel i5-3470 CPU 3.2GHz

16GB RAM

GTX 760 graphics card

500GB SSD

I really hope someone can help. I don't want to have to go back to VSDC.

• 1. Re: Maxing CPU during export
          A.T. Romano Level 7

casey_w

Is the SSD the Local Disk C for your computer? And, did you install Premiere Elements 13 to the default which is the Local Disk C?

Have you updated 13 to 13.1 yet using an opened project's Help Menu/Updates. If not, please do so.

What is your computer operating system?

Please look at the exports (file saved to the computer hard drive and burn to disc products) with and with out the Intel HD Graphics 2000 and Higher preference disabled. See Edit Menu/Preferences/General and that preference at that location.

If export to file saved to the computer hard drive, what is the estimation file size and duration of the export?

If export is burn to disc, what does the Quality area of the burn dialog show for Space Required and Bitrate when

the disc is in the burner tray? At this point, are you dealing with only export to file saved to computer hard drive?

Let us start here and then decide what next.

Thank you.

ATR

• 2. Re: Maxing CPU during export
            Casey_W Level 1