7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 23, 2007 9:28 PM by abeall

load var

unknownewbie
      hi im pretty new with flash so i start a project which is a website and i have a dynamic text, and when people click buttons caleld like "news" or "downloads" the dynamic text will change according to a notepad file saved in the same folder as the fla/swf

this is the script i have on my button and it isn't working =[ could anyone help?

on (release) {
      var showtext:LoadVars = new LoadVars();
      text.load("news.txt");
      }
        • 1. Re: load var
          abeall Level 3
          on (release) {
          var showtext:LoadVars = new LoadVars();
          showText.load("news.txt");
          showText.onLoad = function(){
          someTextFieldWhichYouHaveNamed.text = this.someVariableWhichYouHaveDefinedInTheTxtFile;
          }
          }
          • 2. Re: load var
            unknownewbie Level 1
            ugh its not working =[

my variable for the dynamic text is "showtext" my notepad file is "news.txt"
            • 3. Re: load var
              abeall Level 3
              Do you have a named TextField?
              • 4. Re: load var
                unknownewbie Level 1
                errrrrr no i only have a button, dynamic text field and a notepad file
                • 5. Re: load var
                  wesm9787