2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 4, 2015 8:50 PM by A.T. Romano

Trouble with flickering and noise

Sandrine Sc.

Hi everyone,

This is my first time editing a short movie so please bear with me This is actually a cooking show.

I have different types of files to use for this movie: .mov (front facing camera, my friend's camcorder), .avi (side facing camera, Nikon D5000) and then sound files.

I'm only having issues with the .mov files: when I import them, there are "blotches" of black noice all over the image, as well as heavy flickering. I've tried renderizing it but it didn't really help: the video flows better, the images don't freeze, but the noise & flickering are still very present.

I've put a short sample of the video at this link .mov import problem - YouTube

Could anyone help me?

Thanks,

Sandy

• 1. Re: Trouble with flickering and noise
          whsprague Level 4

For any help, you'll need to supply more details including, computer, PrE version, the project setting, how it was set, what the camera recording settings are (or their file specifications) and how you are recording your audio. 

At first glance, it appears that the project settings, camera settings and output setting are a mis-match.

• 2. Re: Trouble with flickering and noise
            A.T. Romano Level 7

Sandy

Are you saying that there are no issues at all with the Nikon D5000 which appears to be offering you choices of

1280 x 720 @ 24 progressive frames per second or 640 x 424 @ 24 progressive frames per second or 320 x 216 @ 24 progressive frames per second. Which of those 3 resolutions are you using? It is using MotionJPEG as the video compression to go along with the .avi file extension. Typically the user has problems with the MotionJPEG video compression which you are not in any way. Please confirm.