7 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2007 11:51 AM by abeall

Overlapping sounds interferring with each other

megaresp
      Using Flash 8 Pro (free trial). I haven't downloaded any updates (help > about shows version 8.0).

I have 2 weeks experience with Flash, and a week with Actionscript, so I'm new to this. But I have plenty of experience with php and javascript.

I have two sounds. Both are music tracks imported into the library in .wav format (I get same result with mp3). The tracks are assigned in Actionscript as follows...

var introMusic:Sound=new Sound();
      introMusic.attachSound("intro_music");
      introMusic.start(0,1);

var presentMusic:Sound=new Sound();
      presentMusic.attachSound("present_music");

I get presentMusic (the second sound) to start just as introMusic is fading out. NOTE: The fade is actually in the music. I'm not using flash to fade.

So my goal is to have the sounds to overlap, with introMusic going out as presentMusic comes in. A radio DJ may do the same thing, start up the next track just as the previous one ends (fades away).

I can do what I want in Actionscript easily enough. The script works, but when presentMusic is kicked off the sound goes haywire.

There's massive distortion, fuzziness, and it sounds like the tempo has changed.

Curiously, when I have the script start both sounds at the same time...it works just fine (i.e. two distinct tracks are playing normally)!

I've been told that Flash is able to overlap sounds that start at different times, so I can only assume I've missed something. Does anybody have an answer/suggestion?
        • 1. Re: Overlapping sounds interferring with each other
          abeall Level 3
          That's strange. I'd be personally curious to see the .fla and do some tinkering. One suggestion I would make is to use MovieClips as holders for your Sound. The behavior of the Sound object has always seemed a bit odd to me, but try something like this: