3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 23, 2007 12:43 PM by MotionMaker

Help!! Having Issue with animating MovieClip in Actionscript

kennyred
      Hello to all my favorite forum folks!

I have been using flash for a few years, on and off and have used the forums successfully for many issues I couldn't resolve.

Essentially I have a 3 layer Flash file.
      First layer being actions, second is my Navigation (just text right now) and third is my photo (which is being used as a movie clip)

I am wanting to animate the photo from one xy coordinate to another using the same navigation button. I tried using frame labels and the gotoAndPlay function but I have had problems with this in the past and it just won't work.

Does anyone have any piece of code which I could use that would use a if/else statement to animate to certain xy coordinates.

I've been trying diferent things that have been posted on the forums to no avail. If anyone can help it would be appreciated. Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Help!! Having Issue with animating MovieClip in Actionscript
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          your button needs to initiate a loop (setInterval() will work) that repeatedly changes the movieclips _x,_y properties towards a designated endpoint. when the movieclip is close enough to the endpoint the loop terminates.
          • 2. Re: Help!! Having Issue with animating MovieClip in Actionscript
            kennyred Level 1
            so exactly how should I write the code? my current code, (which i think is a little screwed up and not cleaned up) is this,

_root.onEnterFrame = function () {if (this.desk_mc._currentframe =
            "mtopens,mtokeyboard,keyboardtom,keyboardtopens,penstom,penstokeyboard" )
            {this.portfolio_btn.onRelease = this.desk_mc.gotoAndPlay("mtokeyboard");}else{stop();
            }
            }

sorry, about the messy code, I was self taught and just kinda figured out how to do this by reading on the forums.