6 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2015 9:22 PM by A.T. Romano

Aperture user

Chas 65

I am a aperture user for many years with the new photos coming out I have a concern been thinking about switching to Elements I have over 3000 photos and hours of videos would like to switch over to but I'm not very tech savvy. All my videos and photos our  on portable external hard drive on Apple formate .

• 1. Re: Aperture user
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

JPG pictures are normally very standard, and should work in any program that reads JPG

What do you mean by "Apple format" for your video?

Codec tutorial on Vimeo https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1567965

Codec & Format information, with 2 links inside for you to read http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1270588

Report back with the codec details of your file, use the programs below... A screen shot works well to SHOW people what you are doing

https://forums.adobe.com/thread/1070933 for screen shot instructions

Free programs to get file information for PC/Mac http://mediaarea.net/en/MediaInfo/Download

• 2. Re: Aperture user
            Chas 65 Level 1

Have hour of set up over years with Projects with  Aperture I will have to start over with Elements right that what i meant Apple formate I am over 70 years and not to good with this stuff. Have Apple store close would go to  classes at store for help.

• 3. Re: Aperture user
              A.T. Romano Level 7

Chas 65

At this point, what version of Premiere Elements Mac do you have? Or, are you just thinking about purchasing Photoshop Elements 13 (for photo editing) along with Premiere Elements 13 (for video editing).

What do you have on that external hard drive....your photos (jpgs or other) and videos (with .mp4 or .mov file extension or other)? Or do you have project files from the Aperture program?