19 Replies Latest reply on Apr 8, 2015 6:44 PM by bpwhistler

Script to determine days between dates

bpwhistler Level 1

I'm totally new to JavaScript.  I'm attempting to do a calculation field with a custom calculation script.  I've tried to piece together something with script I've scavenged from multiple forums, but have been completely unsuccessful.  I have 4 form fields.  2 date fields, a number field (formatted for currency), and the calculation field.  The calculation I'm attempting is ((365 - (days between the 2 date fields)) divided by 365) times (currency field).  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Script to determine days between dates
          hasand59089870 Level 2

// the function adddays returns the calculated Date (as + or - days).

// Q1date = new Date()

// var daystoadd = -2          // two days before

// var newDate = adddays(Q1date, daystoadd))

function adddays(xDate, xAddDays){
            var date1 = new Date(xDate)
            var ndate1 = Date.parse(date1);
            var ndate2 = ndate1 + 86400000 * xAddDays
            var date2 = new Date(ndate2)
            return date2   

//return util.printd("mm/dd/yy", date2)        // if you want formated. Then adjust the printd and take this as return value
          }

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------ ---------------------

function daysBetween (startDate, endDate) {
              return Math.round(Math.abs((startDate.getTime() - endDate.getTime())/(86400000)));
          };

// Q1date = new Date()

// Q2date = new Date("2015/04/08")

// var xdaydif = daysBetween(Q1date, Q2Date)

• 2. Re: Script to determine days between dates
            bpwhistler Level 1