5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 9, 2015 12:49 PM by Joel Cherney

New user: can I import things I've done in other programs?

caras60088731

I'm VERY new to InDesign.  I have already created flyers and brochures in other programs- some are templates that I've purchased and figured out how to manipulate in word and other programs.  Can I import these into InDesign and edit from there? If so, how? Thanks!

• 1. Re: New user: can I import things I've done in other programs?
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

What other programs?

Some can be opened with the help of third party applications.

• 2. Re: New user: can I import things I've done in other programs?
            Michael Witherell Adobe Community Professional

No. But you can...

File > Place a PSD from Photoshop, an .AI file from Illustrator, or any PDF file. Also, PNG, JPG, TIF, etc.

These files are scaled and positioned on the InDesign page. Not converted.

If you wish to edit the placed files, you go seek the Links panel, and having selected the graphic, you click Edit Original button.

InDesign is meant to anchor the center of all three programs. Photoshop is for pixel pictures. Illustrator is for vector-drawn shape images, like logos. They all Place into and onto the pages of InDesign.

• 3. Re: New user: can I import things I've done in other programs?
              caras60088731 Level 1

thank you.  unfortunately right now i'm not very familiar with any of these programs.  I'm very good at creating and manipulating templates (taking the things I like from them and using them in a different way).  I'd like to do this in InDesign.  should I just take the elements that I want from these other docs, save them as jpgs and then import them into indesign.  and HOW do I do this??  Thank you!

• 4. Re: New user: can I import things I've done in other programs?
                Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)